Country Fresh Meats

Ohio Ag News Headlines
State Board District Teachers of the Year Announced
Ohio Ag Connection - 08/11/2017

Ten teachers now bear the title of 2018 Teacher of the Year for their State Board of Education districts, according to an announcement made by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Paolo DeMaria. The awards are part of the Ohio Teacher of the Year program.

"Teachers are changing lives and creating futures -- not only for the students, but for our communities, our state and our nation," DeMaria said. "The Ohio Teacher of the Year program recognizes influential and inspiring educators who demonstrate some of the things I love most about teachers: they take our system to higher heights and continue the path toward excellence."

School administrators, fellow educators, parents, students and community members nominated teachers for the district awards. State Board of Education members worked with local committees of educators, parents and business leaders to select award recipients.

A state panel of education and community stakeholders interviews five state finalists from the pool of State Board district winners to select the Ohio Teacher of the Year. The state superintendent will announce the statewide honoree in the fall.

The Ohio Teacher of the Year will represent the state in the national Teacher of the Year selection process sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers in 2018.

The State Board District Teachers of the Year are:

- Mark Suter, Elida High School

- Jay Welenc, Toledo School for the Arts

- Rachel Murdock, Stivers School for the Arts

- Bobbie Foy, Medina High School

- Jonathan Juravich, Liberty Tree Elementary School

- Daniel Scarmack, Hubbard High School

- Kiel Gallina, Lake Middle School

- Patty Couts, Port Washington Elementary School

- Megan Large, South Webster High School

- Dr. Matthew Luginbill, Cuyahoga Heights Elementary School

Send this article to a friend

Other Ohio Headlines
Machinery Pete
Copyright 2018 - All Rights Reserved.