The Ina Store, Inc.

Ohio Ag News Headlines
Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Announced
Ohio Ag Connection - 09/10/2018

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services has announced the members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

These 20 outstanding inductees will be honored for their accomplishments and achievements at the 26th annual Induction Ceremony in November for their post-military service. This class of candidates represents 13 Ohio counties and four military branches.

The 2018 Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Inductees are:

Fredric L. Abrams, Air Force, Warren County

Ronald L. Albers, Air Force, Franklin County

Cassie B. Barlow, Air Force, Greene County

*Francis Leroy Clendenen, Army, Licking County

Orvil D. Cooper, Army, Lawrence County

Haraz N. Ghanbari, Army, Navy, Wood County

James L. Gibson, Guernsey County

Paul D. Haller, Navy, Jackson County

Ronald J. Hartman, Army, Clermont

Joseph A. Machado, Army, Fairfield County

Robert P. Milich, Air Force, Mahoning County

*Charles L. Murray, Army, Franklin County

Merle J. Pratt, Navy, Franklin County

Fredrick L. Pumroy, Air Force, Greene County

Clifford Riley, Army, Clermont County

Dana L. Robinson-Street, Navy, Franklin County

Ronald A. Schwachenwald, Army, Lorain County

Douglas D. Theaker, Navy, Richland County

E.J. Thomas, Jr., Air Force, Franklin County

Robert J. Wilhelm, Marines, Guernsey County

*Awarded posthumously

Ohio veterans and the general public are invited and encouraged to attend the Induction Ceremony at Radiant Life Church, 7100 Post Road, Dublin, on Nov. 8. A continental breakfast reception begins at 9 a.m. with the induction ceremony beginning at 10 a.m.

For more information: 614-644-0898, or go to

The Class of 2018 was chosen from among 119 nominations. This year's class joins 854 Ohio veterans who have been inducted since 1992 and represent all eras and branches.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by former Gov. George Voinovich to recognize the post-military achievements of outstanding Ohio veterans. Charter members of the Hall of Fame's Class of 1992 included the six Ohio veterans who were elected President of the United States as well as Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio. Honorees of the past 25 years include astronauts, community volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates and former government officials.

The members of the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame are honored in a permanent display near the Ohio Statehouse at the Riffe Center, 77 South High Street, Columbus.

The Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame is administered by the Ohio Department of Veterans Services in collaboration with the Hall of Fame Executive Committee. Comprised of 13 veteran volunteers, the committee members serve as advisors to the Hall of Fame and their primary purpose is to annually select up to 20 honorees.

Send this article to a friend

Other Ohio Headlines
Cloverdale TMR Mixers
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.