Kelly Manufacturing

National & World Ag News Headlines
Ecuador is Latest Country to Apply for CPTPP
USAgNet - 01/17/2022

Ecuador is the latest country applying to join the 11-nation Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership.

A year ago, the United Kingdom asked to join the multilateral trade pact, and China and Taiwan filed applications in September. South Korea also has expressed interest in joining.

The CPTPP includes Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam, which comprise about 500 million consumers and 13.5 percent of world GDP and are some of the world’s largest pork-consuming nations.

The United States was part of the trade pact’s predecessor, the Trans-Pacific Partnership, but the Trump administration withdrew from the deal before it was finalized.

Other National Headlines
Sheah Auguers/SD Ellenbecker
Copyright © 2022 - All Rights Reserved.